Watch How Indian Cricket Team Celebrated Series Win Over Windies

Adjust Comment Print

After winning the toss, Windies skipper Jason holder chose to bat first and soon his decision backfired as the home team bundled the visitor for 104 runs.

The final ODI is to be played at the new greenfield stadium in Kerala's Thiruvananthapuram. India have taken an unassailable lead but the last game gives Windies a chance to draw level while India will like to seal the series and bring another silverware home.

Rohit Sharma made an unbeaten 63 and captain Virat Kohli hit 33 as India chased down their target in 14.5 overs.

Any semblance of hope West Indies had was over when Holder allowed an edge from Kohli to burst through his hands at first slip when the batsman, who scored three consecutive centuries in the series, had made only four.

Jadeja, who was named man-of-the-match, polished off the West Indies' tail and India did not need the customary break after end of the first innings to get past their target. This is the sixth time Kohli is lifting the trophy at home.

The two sides now head to Kolkata on Sunday for the first of three T20 internationals.

Trump to end right to citizenship for US-born babies
Trump , should he pursue the executive order, would face court challenges, and it remains unclear whether he could prevail. The revoking of birthright citizenship was on Trump's agenda also while he was campaigning for the presidential election.

West Indies: 1 Kieran Powell, 2 Shai Hope (wk), 3 Marlon Samuels, 4 Shimron Hetmyer, 5 Rovman Powell, 6 Jason Holder (capt), 7 Fabian Allen, 8 Keemo Paul, 9 Devendra Bishoo, 10 Kemar Roach, 11 Oshane Thomas.

RESULT: India won by nine wickets to win five-match 3-1.

Left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja took 4-34, and pace bowler Jasprit Bumrah 2-11 from his six overs.

MATCH REFEREE: B.C. Broad (England).

Virat Kohli congratulated Indian team and his boys to win the series. Having already inside-edged once while driving away from his body, Samuels fell in Jadeja's second over, reaching out once again, this time only managing to pop a catch to extra-cover as the ball stopped on him.

FIRST MATCH: Guwahati, India won by eight wickets.