XFL Unveils Eight Cities, Venues for Teams to Launch in February 2020

Adjust Comment Print

CenturyLink Field is the home of the NFL's Seattle Seahawks and the MLS' Seattle Sounders FC.

McMahon's league played one season in 2001 and then was disbanded.

During an event at MetLife Stadium, Vince McMahon and league commissioner Oliver Luck revealed Dallas, St. Louis, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, Seattle, Tampa Bay, and Washington D.C. will be the first XFL cities.

The host cities were actually leaked by the XFL last week prior to the official announcement today. He mentioned the hundreds of players that get cut from the National Football League and they will be invited to try out for the XFL. Among them is a NY team based at MetLife Stadium. Teams will play a 10-game regular-season schedule and two-round playoffs in the months immediately following the National Football League season. McMahon also said the game will be played faster-in about two hours-and more "fan-centric".

Kickoff for the XFL will be February 8-9, 2020, following the Super Bowl, as the league runs during the NFL's offseason.

Netflix Hilariously Announces "FRIENDS" Will Not Be Leaving in 2019
According to Decider , Friends will be gone as of January 1st, 2019 and fans have taken to Twitter with all kinds of sentiments. Netflix might've disappointed us by canceling Daredevil , but it delivered some good news on the Friends front on Monday.

Former XFL Development Team Member and former WWE executive Bruce Prichard discusses the launch of a new version of the XFL by Vince McMahon. They want a smooth in game flow, limiting timeouts, and simplifying rules.

Luck feels there is a deeper talent pool than ever before. It is easy at this point to wave off the XFL as the wild idea of a rich man, especially when it keeps talking about innovations without actually saying what they are, but it aims to employ a lot of football players.

Poor attendance, however, shut the league down after one season.

Globe Life Park, home of Major League Baseball's Texas Rangers.

"After months of research and consideration, we're thrilled to announce the cities and venues of the XFL's eight inaugural teams", Luck said.